Neither Here Nor There: Perspectives on Identity by the Young Eritrean and Ethiopian Diaspora in America

September 2, 2009

Fly Away Video by BURNTFACE – MySpace Video

Filed under: Uncategorized — Habesha Diaspora @ 10:34 pm

Fly Away Video by BURNTFACE – MySpace Video

Shared via AddThis

The longest I have ever lived in one place is 6 years.  Politics, life circumstances, and preferences of my family have resulted in my constantly being on the move.  In my k-12 education I attended 7 different schools.  By the time I was 18 years old I had lived in 11 different apartments and homes.  By age 9 I had lived on 3 different continents.  This constant moving around has resulted in, what feels like, a constant itch to be on the move.  By the age of 25 I had already visited 5 of the 7 continents and since I am on a roll I plan to set foot on all 7 before I meet my maker.  Never having had a physical sense of home, my home now is my family.  Still I search for a location that feels comfortable enough, familiar enough, welcoming enough to become home.  In the mean time I will answer this insistent itch by buying one plane ticket after the other.  Constantly answering the call to Fly Away…

~Mahlet

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

