Neither Here Nor There: Perspectives on Identity by the Young Eritrean and Ethiopian Diaspora in America

December 18, 2011

Idealistic Hope

Filed under: Uncategorized — Habesha Diaspora @ 10:53 pm

I have been called idealistic at times and though I do not refute this label, I still believe that without some sort of blind hope big change would never occur. The responsibility of making a change comes in educating yourself so you act smart and expend your energy in the right place. This balance is one I constantly struggle with. As an Ethiopian-American working with underpriveleged youth in Georgia, I feel pulled in different directions. There is so much I can do for my people around the globe but it seems that oppurtunities are rare that allow me to do both at the same time. Monies are allocated for particular populations so I have to apply for grants in twice as many places. There must be a way to take on this challenge to find a way to work smart. There must be a way to connect these two worlds of mine which only are separated to others. To me these two worlds co-exist. A hungry mouth is a hungry mouth regardless of the language it speaks. An uneducated child is an uneducated child regardless of the continent she lives on. So, I am writing to you today to ask what your ideas are. How have you engendered change in two places at once and do you even think this is possible?

Standing by,

Liya

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

